A Wonderful World, Indeed

7 12 2012

Today I began a six month writing apprenticeship with elephantjournal.com to learn more about writing, editing, blogging, social media etc. I have always been fond of writing for my own enjoyment and editing for friends and colleagues; however, until now I have done very little to cultivate these back-burner passions. I often doubted whether I had anything important or interesting enough to say, that hasn’t already been said in some fashion by thousands of other bloggers. Needless to say, opportunity knocked, I’m following the signs, and both of us are walking through the door.

Upon sharing this news, friends and family all seemed happy for me, yet at the same time not seeming to comprehend why all the excitement. The reason goes way beyond personal gain, and for some that is a hard concept to grasp. It is because of the pure un-adulturated, warm fuzzy, heart-opening feeling of joining something bigger than just myself. Maybe one of the greatest delusions of humanity is that we are to be completely self-sufficient, and can control life to our own satisfaction. Truth is, we all need to connect to something greater, it makes us feel good, it makes us happy. We need to feel we are not in this alone.

I am deeply grateful for this opportunity, to join a mission that is dedicated to bringing people together whom are working (and playing) to create a more enlightened society. It is a guide to all things considered vital for a more “mindful life”: components include yoga, organics, sustainability, genuine spirituality, conscious consumerism, fair fashion, the contemplative arts‚Ķanything that helps one to live a good life that also happens to be good for others, and our planet. Yes please!

Today I am happy because I am joining something great, an inspiring, talented group of individuals in order to help share the vision, to be helpful, relevant and accessible to the masses. In order to find my voice and embrace the experience fully, I am taking the plunge into the wordy world of blogging! Please follow along if you are keen, be inspired, and act as if your life and our planet depend on it. Because quite frankly, they do…

Video originally shared during first apprenticeship meeting by Waylon Lewis, upon being asked what is the message and vision of elephantjournal.com. http://www.elephantjournal.com/2011/12/what-a-wonderful-world/ Song originally shared with me for the first time when I was a young child by my dad.

Lovingly Yours,
Christa

Actions

Information

One response

7 12 2012
Mr WordPress

Hi, this is a comment.
To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

